MALU appliance

MALU appliance The term MALU is an abbreviation for mandibular advancement locking unit. This appliance is nothing more than a hybrid of the Herbst-Appliance. Contrary to the Herbst-Appliance MALU is used in combination with a fixed appliance. It’s advantageous because of the reduction of treatment duration, but causes a higher frequency of repairs concerning the […]

Mandible, mandibular

Mandible, mandibular The lower jaw, regarding the lower jaw, lower jaw-related

Mandibular prognathism (Angle class III)

Mandibular prognathism (Angle class III) Overgrowth of the lower jaw that is often associated with underdevelopment of the upper jaw or even the entire midface and a crossbite (inverted overbite) of the front teeth. The prognathism is a hereditary variation that can be treated in mild to moderate forms at the start of treatment in […]

Mandibular protrusion splint

Mandibular protrusion splint It’s a removable appliance which temporarily moves the lower jaw forward. It is used to treat obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) and snoring.

Mandibular retrognathism

Mandibular retrognathism The back bite of the lower jaw or the lower row of teeth, also called distal occlusion or Angle Class II.

MAP

MAP Abbreviation for myoarthropathy of the masticatory system commonly used in Switzerland, see there

MARA

MARA The Mandibular Anterior Repositioning Appliance (MARA) was invented by James Eckhart and Douglas Toll. It’s a fixed appliance that is used for a protrusion of the lower jaw (Angle-Class II, distal occlusion). Initial studies have shown that the results are as good as with a Herbst-Appliance, although patient comfort is not so good as with […]

Maxilla, maxillary

Maxilla, maxillary The upper jaw, regarding the upper jaw, upper jaw-related

MEAW

MEAW See Multiloop Edgewise Archwire Technique

Mediotrusion

Mediotrusion Mediotrusion describes the mesial movement of the mandible. Adults normally show a range of movement from 8 mm to 12 mm. This can differ without being an illness value. Different values on the left or right side are normal. However, the extent of movement on the right side is greater in most people.

Mesial

Mesial Mesial is a directional term for: in the direction of the center of the dental arch.

Mesial Occlusion

Mesial Occlusion This refers to an overbite in the lower jaw and is often associated with a cross-bite in the front teeth (Angle-Class III).

Mesiodens

Mesiodens This term refers to an excess tooth in the middle of the upper jaw. Whereas in the past, it was taught that excess teeth had to be extracted, today there is a more relaxed attitude towards them. As long as these teeth have no contact with the oral cavity, don’t  develop cysts and don’t […]

MFA

MFA The Mandibular Functional Advancer, abbreviated MFA, is based on the MARA appliance, having only been slightly modified and working on the same principle (see MARA).

Mini Implants

Mini Implants Orthodontic mini implants (modified surgical screws) are used as temporary anchorage devices for special tooth movements. This is a technique that was developed in the 1990’s and refers to an orthodontic procedure whereby a single tooth or a group of teeth can be firmly anchored in the bone using small titanium screws. Other […]

Mixed dentition

Mixed dentition It describes the human dentition of children at the age of 6 to 11 years with milk teeth and first permanent teeth present.

Molars

Molars The three large posterior teeth that have four or five cusps and bear the main masticatory stress.

MRT

MRT MRT is the abbreviation for Magnetic Resonance Tomography which is a high-resolution imaging procedure that doesn’t use X-rays. Instead, it makes use of a strong magnetic field and, unlike normal X-Rays, there are no known harmful effects associated with MRT so it has proven itself to be a harmless diagnostic procedure. Since its introduction […]

MSA – Bumann

MSA – Bumann : MSA which is an abbreviation for Manual Structural Analysis was introduced by A. Bumann and is a series of manual techniques for the examination of the mandibular joints and the chewing apparatus. Manual examination techniques (i.e. using the hands) were mainly developed in the US and the Netherlands but also in […]

Multiband-Appliance

Multiband-Appliance This is an outdated name for a multi-bracket appliance as these appliances are mainly fixed to the teeth with brackets and not with bands as they used to be. This misleading term is still widely used, even by orthodontists.

Multiloop

Multiloop Edgewise Archwire (MEAW) The Multiloop Edgewise Archwire Technique (MEAW) was invented by Y. H. Kim in Korea and is a treatment technique involving fixed appliances. The Multiloop Technique was further spread and propagated by S. Sato in Japan. This is the reason why it’s sometimes called Sato-Technique. Unlike the brackets of a fixed brace […]

Myoarthropathies of the masticatory system

Myoarthropathies of the masticatory system Common name for painful disorders of the masticatory muscles and temporomandibular joints mainly used in Switzerland. In Germany, the term “craniomandibular dysfunction” (CMD) is rather common, but not exactly of the same meaning.

Myobrace

Myobrace Myobrace are a series of simple, prefabricated orthodontic appliances that all resemble a positioner. They have been marketed by the company Myofunctional Research since about 2010 with increasing pressure in Europe. Almost every orthodontist receives regular advertising. It’s claimed that the prefabricated Myobrace appliances are mainly suitable for the early orthodontic treatment which is […]

Myofascial

Myofascial Muscles- and fascia-related

Myofascial Pain

Myofascial Pain Travell’s and Simon’s term for muscle and fascia pain, usually referred to as trigger point pain, with frequent projection into adjacent anatomical regions. Often misunderstood in dentistry and reflected as myofacial pain which would mean muscle pain of the face – a nonsensical term!

MALU-Zahnspange

MALU-Zahnspange MALU bedeutet madibular advancement locking unit und ist nichts weiter als ein Hybrid der altbekannten Herbst-Apparatur. Die MALU-Apparatur wurde von S. Kumar in Norwegen entwickelt. Im Unterschied zum Herbst wird MALU aber nicht allein verwendet, sondern auf die Multibracketapparatur aufgesteckt. Diese Art der Behandlung hat den Vorteil, die gesamte Behandlungsdauer abzukürzen, jedoch um den […]

MAP

MAP vor allem in der Schweiz gebräuchliche Abkürzung für Myoarthropathie des Kausystems, siehe dort

MARA

MARA Die Mandibular repositioning appliance (MARA) ist ein von James Eckhart und Douglas Toll erdachtes, festsitzendes Gerät zur Bissverschiebung des Unterkiefers nach vorne beim Rückbiss (Distalokklusion, Angle Klasse II). Erste Studien zeigten ähnlich gute Ergebnisse wie beim Herbstscharnier, allerdings ist der Patientenkomfort bei dem Gerät schlechter als bei den meisten anderen Non-Compliance-Apparaten zur Bissverschiebung.

MEAW

MEAW Siehe Multiloop Edgewise Archwire (MEAW) Technik

Mediotrusion

Mediotrusion Mediotrusion bedeutet die Bewegung des Unterkiefers zur Mitte. Der Bewegungsumfang beim Erwachsenen ist normalerweise zwischen 8mm und 12mm. Größere und kleinere Werte kommen vor, ohne dass dies einen Krankheitswert hätte. Unterschiedliche Werte auf der rechten und linken Seite sind normal, wobei das Bewegungsausmaß rechts bei den meisten Menschen etwas größer ist.

Mesial

mesial mesial ist eine Richtungsbezeichnung und bedeutet zur Mitte des Zahnbogens gerichtet.

Mesialokklusion

Mesialokklusion Die Mesialokklusion ist ein Vorbiss des Unterkiefers, oft verbunden mit einem Kreuzbiss der Frontzähne (Angle-Klasse III).

Mesiodens

Mesiodens Ein Mesiodens ist ein überzähliger Zahn in der Mitte des Oberkiefers. Während früher gelehrt wurde, dass Mesiodentes unbedingt entfernt werden müssten, herrscht heute eine gelassenere Beurteilung vor. So lange diese Zähne keinen Kontakt zur Mundhöhle haben, keine Zyste ausbilden und einer kieferorthopädischen Behandlung nicht im Wege stehe, können sie belassen werden. Eine periodische Kontrolle […]

MFA

Mandibular functional advancer (MFA) Mandibular functional advancer, abgekürzt MFA, ist ein der MARA-Apparatur nachempfundenes, nur wenig modifiziertes Gerät mit dem selben Wirkprinzip (siehe MARA).

Mini-Implantate

Mini-Implantate Kieferorthopädische Miniimplantate sind modifizierte chirurgische Schrauben, die zur Verankerung im Knochen bei besonderen zahnbewegungen dienen. Der Einsatz der Miniimplantate ist eine seit den 1990er Jahren eingeführte Methode, während kieferorthopädischer Behandlungen mit Hilfe von kleinen Titanschrauben einzelne Zähne oder Zahngruppen fest und unbeweglich im Knochen zu verankern. Andere Bezeichnungen für die Miniimplantate sind Verankerungsschrauben oder […]

Molaren

Molaren die drei großen hinteren Backenzähnen, die vier oder fünf Höcker aufweisen und die hauptsächliche Kaulast tragen

MRT

MRT Das Magnetresonanztomogramm, kurz MRT, ist ein hochauflösendes, bildgebendes Verfahren ohne Röntgenstrahlen. Es beruht auf der Anwendung starker Magnetfelder und hat keine bekannten unerwünschten Wirkungen.  Seit seiner Einführung in den 80er Jahren des letzten Jahrhunderts hat das MRT die Möglichkeiten der bildgebenden Diagnostik erheblich erweitert und ist aus vielen gebieten der Medizin nicht mehr wegzudenken. […]

MRT – Mandibular Joint

MRT – Mandibular Joint Sometimes in dentistry it is fashionable to do an MRT of the mandibular joint. However, MRT normally identifies numerous abnormalities that are neither significant from a prognosis point nor do they lead to any other treatment. So this is really a pointless diagnostic procedure that simply worries the patient and costs […]

MSA nach Bumann

MSA nach Bumann Die MSA (ausgeschrieben Manuelle Strukturanalyse) nach A. Bumann steht für eine Reihe von manuellen Techniken zur Untersuchung der Kiefergelenke, eingeschränkt auch der Kaumuskulatur. Manuelle (mit den Händen ausgeführte) Untersuchungstechniken sind vor allem in den USA und den Niederlanden, aber auch an vielen anderen Orten in der Welt entwickelt worden. Deshalb sind manuelle […]

Multiband-Apparatur

Multiband-Apparatur Veraltete Bezeichnung für Multibracketapparatur, da diese Apparaturen heute überwiegend mit Brackets, nicht mehr mit „Bänder“ genannten Metallringen an den Zähnen befestigt werden. Der irreführende Begriff wird trotzdem noch häufig genutzt, selbst von Kieferorthopäden.

Multiloop

Multiloop Edgewise Archwire (MEAW) Die Multiloop Edgewise Archwire (MEAW) Technik ist eine von Y.H. Kim in Korea erdachte Technik der Behandlung mit festsitzenden Zahnspangen. Die Mulitilooptechnik wurde danach vor allem von S. Sato aus Japan verbreitet und propagiert, so dass sie gelegentlich auch als Sato-Technik bezeichnet wird. Während normalerweise die Brackets der festsitzenden Zahnspange durch […]

Mundvorhof

Mundvorhof der schmale Raum zwischen den Zähnen und den Kiefern auf der einen und den Lippen und Wangen auf der anderen Seite

Mundvorhofplatte

Mundvorhofplatte Einfache und kostengünstige herausnehmbare Zahnspange, die einem Schnuller ähnelt, aber nur aus einer einfachen Silikon- oder Plastikplatte besteht, die sich im Mundvorhof zwischen den Lippen und den Schneidezähnen befindet. Daran befindet sich meistens ein Griff, der zwischen die Lippen ragt. Die Mundvorhofplatte (MVP) wird gerne in der Frühbehandlung von Kindern vor dem Grundschulalter verwendet, […]

Myoarthropathien des Kausystems

Myoarthropathien des Kausystems hauptsächlich in der Schweiz gebräuchliche Bezeichnung für meist schmerzhafte Störungen der Kaumuskulatur und der Kiefergelenke, sonst ist im deutschen Sprachraum eher der nicht ganz deckungsgleiche Begriff craniomandibuläre Dysfunktion (CMD) üblich

Myobrace

Myobrace – starke Werbung, bescheidene Ergebnisse Myobrace sind eine ganze Reihe einfacher, präfabrizierter Zahnspangen, die alle einem Positioner ähnlich sehen. Sie werden von der Firma Myofunctional Research seit etwa 2010 mit zunehmendem Druck auch in Europa vermarktet. Fast jeder Kieferorthopäde erhält regelmäßig Werbung des Herstellers. Die vorgefertigten Myobrace-Apparate sollen vor allem für – grundsätzlich fragwürdige […]

myofaszial

myofaszial Muskeln und Faszien betreffend

myofaszialer Schmerz

myofaszialer Schmerz auf Travell und Simons zurückgehender Begriff für Schmerzen der Muskeln und Faszien, meist als Triggerpunktschmerz dargestellt mit häufiger Projektion in benachbarte anatomische Regionen. In der Zahnmedizin oft missverstanden und als myofacialer Schmerz widergegeben, was Schmerzen der Muskeln des Gesichts bedeuten würde – ein unsinniger Begriff!