Band

Band In orthodontic terms, this is a thin metal ring that is cemented to the teeth so that orthodontic wires or appliances such as a transpalatal arch, lower lingual arch or a headgear can be attached. Before bands were prefabricated in different sizes for each tooth, they were actually soldered together from thin sheet metal […]

Bass Technique

Bass Technique A dental brushing technique performed with small vibrating movements, with the head of the toothbrush always positioned halfway on the tooth and on the gum.

Bass-Appliance

Bass-Appliance The Bass Appliance is a combined activator and headgear conceived by Neville Bass. It is a very effective appliance that can be used for the successful treatment of back-bite in the lower jaw even if it is only worn at night. Similar appliances are the Teuscher-Activator, the Hansa-Appliance and the Van Beek Activator. At […]

Begg-Technique

Begg-Technique The Begg-Technique is a fixed appliance that was first conceived in Australia in 1960 by P.R. Begg. It was popular for a while but has now almost completely disappeared – quite rightly so, one would almost like to say, because this technique involved a lot of extra wire elements and mechanical disadvantages. But the […]

BEMA

BEMA The standard of assessment of dental services (BEMA 2004) is the basis for the billing of dental services within the statutory health insurance in Germany. Or in other words: the BEMA is the scale of fees for dentists working for the statutory health insurance in Germany.

Bimaxillary

Bimaxillary Concerning both jaws, e.g. bimaxillary dysgnathic surgery

Bio-Bite-Corrector

Bio-Bite-Corrector The Bio-Bite-Corrector (abbreviated to BBC) is one of the countless modifications of the Herbst-Appliance which looks quite similar with its telescopic mechanism. Unlike the classic Herbst-Appliance, the Bio-Bite Corrector is attached directly to the fixed appliance so that protruding of the lower jaw and forming the dental arches can be managed in one phase. […]

Bionator

The Bionator an Overestimated Appliance William Balter’s Bionator was developed in the 1950s and was first introduced in 1964. It is actually nothing more than a smaller version of an Activator, i.e. a removable brace that encompasses both the upper and lower jaw (double brace) and is intended to ‘jump the bite’. It has exactly […]

Bioprogressive Therapy

Bioprogressive Therapy A treatment concept widely spread by Ricketts around 1970 which is based on using fixed appliances in mixed dentition. The Bioprogressive Therapy is currently becoming obsolete and its last supporters have almost vanished, but it still seems to have some followers in France.

Bite former according to Bimler

Bite former according to Bimler The Bimler appliance is a brace for adjusting the bite particularly in cases of retrusion of the lower jaw. It was first introduced by H.P. Bimler in 1949. The Bimler appliance is a kind of skeletonized Activator that has a lot of wire elements along with all the disadvantages of […]

Bite Plate

Bite Plate The bite plate is a removable brace that consists of a small, plastic body and some wire components. It is clipped behind the upper incisors to improve a deep bite in the lower incisors or to raise the bite in the posterior teeth. When it is actually worn, it works very well. However, […]

Bite relation

Bite relation The position of upper and lower jaw in relationship to each other, usually described as the position of the lower jaw: prognathism, neutral bite/eugnathia and retrognathism of the lower jaw (mandible).

Bite Splint

Bite Splint This is a removable plastic cover/splint usually used for the upper teeth and it separates the rows of teeth when biting. Occlusal splints are normally worn at night to prevent the patient from grinding their teeth. They are usually employed where there is pain in either the jaw joint or the chewing muscles […]

Bolton Discrepancy

Bolton Discrepancy Described by W. Bolton in 1958, this term refers to the differences in size that often occur between the teeth of the upper and lower jaw. Above a certain degree of Bolton-Discrepancy it is no longer possible to position the teeth in a normal bite. In such cases it is generally a choice […]

Brace

Brace This is the normal layman’s term for an orthodontic appliance or retainer. There are both fixed and removable braces, although the removable type are now mainly outdated.

Bracket

Bracket This term refers to a kind of little clip that can be attached to the teeth and which can then transmit the forces and torques of orthodontic wires to the teeth. Brackets are the universal working materials in fixed orthodontics. Brackets that are stuck on have been used in orthodontics since 1970 and have […]

Bruxism

Bruxism In dentistry, bruxism refers to all non-functional tooth contacts such as grinding and pressing. There’s a difference between awake and sleep bruxism, both of which have different causes. In the long run, bruxism leads to attrition of tooth substance which can be detected by typical, usually high-gloss grinding facets. Occasional bruxism is normal and […]

Buccal

Buccal Cheek-related; in the direction of the cheeks

Band

In der Kieferorthopädie ein dünner Metallring, der auf Zähne zementiert wird, um kieferorthopädische Drähte oder Hilfsteile wie Gaumenbügel, Lingualbügel oder Headgears aufzunehmen. Bevor Bänder von der Industrie für jeden Zahn in verschiedenen Größen vorgefertigt produziert wurden, wurden sie tatsächlich aus dünnem Blech, das auf Rollen geliefert wurde, zusammengelötet – daher der veraltetet Begriff Band. In […]

Bass-Apparatur

Die Bass-Apparatur ist eine von Neville Bass erdachte Art der Aktivator-Headgear Kombination. Sie ist ein sehr effektives Gerät, das sogar bei nur nächtlichem Tragen meist zu erfolgreichen Behandlungen von Rückbissen des Unterkiefers eingesetzt wird. Ähnliche Apparate sind der Teuscher-Aktivator, das Hansa-Gerät und der Van-Beek-Aktivator. Welche Aktivator-Headgear Kombination von einem Kieferorthopäden bevorzugt wird, ist letzten Endes […]

Bass-Technik

Zahnputztechnik, die mit kleinen Rüttelbewegungen ausgeführt wird, wobei der Kopf der Zahnbürste stets halb auf dem Zahn, halb auf dem Zahnfleisch positioniert wird.

Begg-Technik

Die Begg-Technik ist eine festsitzende Zahnspange, die um 1960 in Australien von Peter R. Begg erdacht wurde. Die Begg-Technik hatte einige Beliebtheit, ist aber inzwischen fast vollkommen verschwunden. Man möchte beinahe sagen: zu Recht, denn die Technik ist mit vielen zusätzlichen Drahtelementen und anderen mechanischen Nachteilen verbunden. Der Geist der Begg-Technik lebt weiter in ihrem […]

BEMA

Der Bewertungsmaßstab zahnärztlicher Leistungen (BEMA 2004) ist die Grundlage für die Abrechnung vertragszahnärztlicher Leistungen innerhalb der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung in Deutschland. Oder anders gesagt: der BEMA ist die Gebührenordnung der Kassenzahnärzte.

Bimaxillär

Bimaxillär bedeutet beide Kiefer betreffend, z.B.bimaxilläre Dysgnathiechirurgie, eine chirurgische Verlagerung beider Kiefer

BioBiteCorrector

Der BioBiteCorrector (abgekürzt BBC) ist eine der zahllosen Abwandlungen des Herbst-Scharniers, dem es mit seinem teleskopierenden Mechanismus äußerst ähnlich sieht. Anders als das klassische Herbst-Scharnier kann der Bio-Bite-Corrector direkt auf die festsitzende Spange (MB-Apparatur) aufgesetzt werden, so dass mit ihr die Phase der Bissverschiebung und der Ausformung der Zahnbögen in einer Phase zusammengefasst werden können. […]

Bionator – eine überschätzte Zahnspange

Der Bionator nach Wilhelm Balters, entwickelt in den 50er Jahren des letzten Jahrhunderts, wurde im Jahr 1964 erstmals publiziert. Er ist nichts weiter als ein etwas verkleinerter Aktivator, also eine herausnehmbare Zahnspange, die beide Kiefer umfasst (Doppelspange) und zur Bissverschiebung dienen soll. Der Bionator hat deshalb genau das selbe Wirkungsspektrum wie der Aktivator, ist also […]

Bioprogressive Therapie

Ein von Ricketts um 1970 verbreitetes Behandlungskonzept, bei dem bereits im Wechselgebiss mit festsitzenden Teilapparaturen gearbeitet wird. Die Bioprogressive Therapie stirbt zurzeit mit ihren letzten Verfechtern aus, scheint aber in Frankreich noch eine gewisse Anhängerschaft zu haben.

Biopsie

Die Biopsie ist eine Entnahme von lebendem Gewebe zur Untersuchung auf Erkrankung, z.B. von Tumorerkrankungen

Bisagittale Splitosteotomie (BSSO)

Die bisagittale Splitosteotomie ist eine Technik der Dysgnathiechirurgie, bei der der Unterkiefer im aufsteigenden Ast beidseits in sagittaler Richtung gespalten wird. Das zahntragende Mittelteil kann dann nach vorn oder hinten verlagert und danach sofort mit chirurgischen Platten und Schrauben fixiert werden. Die BSSO ist eine Technik, die in den 70er Jahren des letzten Jahrhundert erdacht […]

Bisslage

Die Lagebeziehung der Kiefer zueinander, meistens als Lage des Unterkiefers beschrieben: Vorbiss, Neutralbiss und Rückbiss des Unterkiefers.

Bleaching

Bleaching, zu deutsch Bleichen, meint das Aufhellen der Zähne mit Oxidationsmitteln. Es ist eine ästhetische Maßnahme, die wegen des Nachdunkelns der Zähne regelmäßig wiederholt werden muss. In Maßen ist das Bleaching des Zahnschmelzes nicht schädlich.

Bolton-Diskrepanz

Von W. Bolton 1958 beschriebener, häufig vorkommender Größenunterschied der Zähne von Ober- und Unterkiefer. Ab einem gewissen Ausmaß der Bolton-Diskrepanz ist eine Einstellung der Zähne in den Normalbiss nicht mehr möglich. In solchen Fällen ist eine approximale Schmelzreduktion (Verschmälerung) der zu groß geratenen oder eine Verbreiterung der zu klein geratenen Zähne das Mittel der Wahl. […]

Bracket

Bracket (Klammer) ist ein auf die Zähne aufklebbares, kleines Schloss, mit dem die Kräfte und Drehmomente kieferorthopädischer Drähte auf die Zähne übertragen werden. Brackets sind das universelle Arbeitsmittel in der festsitzenden Kieferorthopädie. Geklebte Brackets werden in der Kieferorthopädie seit 1970 verwendet und haben seitdem die vorher verwendeten, zementierten Bänder weitgehend verdrängt. Die ständig weiter entwickelten […]

Bracket-Zahnspange

Die Bracket-Zahnspange oder auch MB (=Multibracket)-Apparatur ist eine festsitzende Zahnspange, die aus aufgeklebten – Brackets und gelegentlich auch zementierten – Bändern besteht. Die MB-Apparatur ist das kieferorthopädische Gerät per se, mit dem sich die meisten kieferorthopädischen Behandlungen in minimaler Zeit, mit minimaler Belastung der Patienten und mit den besten Ergebnissen lösen lassen. Vorurteile gegen die […]

Bruxismus

Als Bruxismus bezeichnet man in der Zahnmedizin alle nichtfunktionellen Zahnkontakte wie Knirschen und Pressen. Es wird zwischen Wach- und Nachtbruxismus unterschieden, die beide unterschiedliche Ursachen haben. Bruxismus führt bei längerem Bestehen zum Abrieb von Zahnsubstanz, die durch typische, meist hochglänzende Schlifffacetten zu erkennen ist. Gelegentlicher Bruxismus ist in geringem Umfang normal und nicht besorgniserregend. Ausgeprägter […]

Bukkal

Zu den Wangen gehörig; in Richtung der Wangen zeigend.