Sato-Technique

The Sato Technique isn’t quite the correct term for the version of the MEAW Technique propagated by S. Sato from Japan. This Multiloop Edgewise Archwire Technique (in full string) was originally developed by Y.H. Kim in Korea. So in this case, the wrong author receives the credit.

Scissor Bite

This refers to molars which do not fit together properly, i.e. the chewing surfaces of opposing teeth do not actually touch at all. See nonocclusion.

Sedation

Pharmacological intervention for patients undergoing surgery

Segmented Arch Technique

This term refers to any kind of orthodontic treatment technique that uses fixed braces that have several wire segments instead of a single wire that encompasses all the teeth at once. This technique was first introduced by Charles Burstone in 1960. Some aspects of the Segmented Arch Technique have become quite widespread, for example the […]

Self-ligating brackets

Brackets with a special spring clip mechanism with which the archwire is held in the bracket. In common brackets the wires are merged by additional rubber or metal ligatures. It’s advantageous that the archwire change is conducted easily and fast and therefore reduces the treatment duration. Other given advantages about self-ligating brackets belong to myths […]

Space deficiency

A disharmony between the dental substance and the space in the jaw bone. It leads to dental crowding.

SPEED Bracket

This is a self-ligating bracket (part of the fixed brace) made by the Strite company in Canada. It is the oldest of all the self-ligating brackets on the market today and has been continuously improved. It is a so-called active self-ligating bracket which means that the locking clip slots into the bracket very easily and […]

Splint

Splint is a commonly used and misleading term for transparent, plastic, removable braces, covering the whole dental arch. There’re active splints for tooth movement, called aligners, (see there), retainers (transparent plastic strips), which are used to stabilize the position of the teeth following orthodontic treatment and occlusal splints (see there), used for the CMD-treatment.

Standard Edgewise Technique

An obsolete technique for multibracket appliances which didn’t offer a proper adaption of the brackets to the different shapes of teeth. In consequence, orthodontists had to compensate this disadvantage by hundreds of manual manipulations of the archwires. When the expensive programmed bracket systems took over the Standard Edgewise Technique became obsolete. Nowadays, it’s hardly in […]

Straight Wire Technique

The Straight Wire Technique was a term for multibracket appliances with programmed brackets. The basic idea to forgo bending of the archwires because of the programmed brackets turned out to be false. Nevertheless, the programmed brackets have prevailed because of simplifying work in comparison to the former Standard Edgewise Brackets. But the term Straight Wire […]

Subgingival

Below the margin of the gums, in the gingival pocket

SUS

The SUS is a fixed brace used for the treatment of overbite in the lower jaw. The letters SUS actually stand for’ Sabbagh Universal Spring’ as the device is named after its inventor A. Sabbagh. It consists of two telescopic attachments which are fixed to a bracket brace (MB-appliance) and, once inserted, it immediately brings […]

Sato-Technik

Sato-Technik Sato-Technik ist die nicht ganz korrekte Bezeichnung für die von S. Sato aus Japan propagierte Version der MEAW-Technik. Diese, voll ausgeschrieben Multiloop Edgewise Archwire Technique, wurde ursprünglich von Y.H. Kim in Korea entwickelt, so dass hier dem falschen Autoren der Kredit gegeben wird.

Scherenbiss

Scherenbiss Der vollständige Vorbeibiss von Backenzähnen, bei dem die Kauflächen antagonistischer Zähne sich überhaupt nicht berühren; siehe Nonokklusion

Schiene

Schiene Umgangssprachlicher, leicht mißverständlicher Begriff für meist tiefgezogene, transparente Plastikapparate, die in der Regel einen ganzen Zahnbogen umfassen. Es gibt aktive Schienen zur Zahnbewegung, die sogenannten Aligner (siehe dort), Retentionsschienen zur Stabilisierung des Behandlungsergebnisses und Aufbissschienen oder besser Okklusionsschienen (siehe dort) zur Therapie der craniomandibulären Dysfunktion.

Schmelz

Schmelz – die fast ausschließlich anorganisch-kristalline Substanz, mit der die Zahnkronen überzogen sind. Der Zahnschmelz ist die härteste Substanz des menschlichen Körpers.

Sedierung

Sedierung Ruhigstellung der patienten während operativer Eingriffe mit Medikamenten

Segmentbogentechnik

Segmentbogentechnik Als Segmentbogentechnik bezeichnet man alle Techniken bei der kieferorthopädischen Behandlung mit festsitzenden Spangen, bei denen mit mehreren Drahtsegmenten statt mit einem einzigen, umlaufenden Draht gearbeitet wird. Erdacht und publiziert wurde die Segmentbogentechnik vor allem von Charles Burstone seit 1960. Einige Elemente der Segmentbogentechnik haben durchaus eine gewisse Verbreitung gefunden, z.B. die Intrusion der Frontzähne […]

Seitenzähne

Seitenzähne die Prämolaren und Molaren, die mit ihren großen Kauflächen die Kaulast tragen

Selbstligierende Brackets

Selbstligierende Brackets Brackets mit einem eingebauten metallischen Verschlußmechanismus zum Festhalten der orthodontischen Drähte. Die Drähte werden bei traditionellen Brackets mit Ligaturen aus elastischem material oder aus dünnen Drähten an den Brackets befestigt. Der große Vorteil der selbstligierenden Brackets ist der schnellere Drahtwechsel und die kürzere Arbeitszeit auf dem Zahnarztstuhl, während die gern und oft behaupteten […]

Sigmatismus

Sigmatismus Sigmatismus ist das Fachwort für Lispeln

SPEED Bracket

SPEED Bracket Ein selbstligierendes Bracket (Bestandteil der festsitzenden Zahnspange) der Firma Strite aus Kanada. Es ist das älteste der heute am Markt angebotenen selbstligierenden Brackets und ständig verbessert worden. Es ist ein sogenanntes aktiv selbstligierendes Bracket, was bedeutet, dass der Verschlussclip leicht in das Bracketslot hineinragt und damit auch mit dünnen Runddrähten schon relativ gute […]

Speekurve

Speekurve Die Speekurve ist sagittale Verwindungskurve der Zahnbögen.

Standard Edgewise Technik

Standard Edgewise Technik Veraltete Multibracket- bzw. Multibandtechnik, bei der die Brackets kaum an die verschiedenen Zahnformen angepaßt waren. Die Folge war die Notwendigkeit hunderter manueller Biegungen in den verwendeten Drähten. Mit dem Auftauchen der gleich teuren programmierten Brackets wurde die Standard Edgewise Technik obsolet und wird heute weltweit kaum noch verwendet.

Straight Wire Technik

Straight Wire Technik Straight Wire Technik war ein Begriff für die Multibracket- bzw. Multibandtechnik mit programmierten Brackets. Die ursprüngliche Idee, durch die an alle Zahnformen angepaßten Brackets ganz auf Biegungen der orthodontischen Drähte verzichten zu können, erwies sich allerdings als nicht realistisch. Programmierte Brackets haben sich nichtsdestotrotz wegen der erheblichen Arbeitserleichterung gegenüber den älterer Standard […]

subgingival

subgingival unter dem Zahnfleischrand, in der Zahnfleischtasche liegend

SUS

SUS-Feder Die SUS-Feder ist eine festsitzende Zahnspange zur Behandlung des Rückbisses des Unterkiefers. SUS bedeutet Sabbagh Universal Spring nach dem Erfinder A. Sabbagh. Sie besteht aus zwei Teleskopgeschieben, die an der Bracket Zahnspange (MB-Apparatur) befestigt werden und die den Unterkiefer mit dem Einbau sofort nach vorne bringen. Die Beweglichkeit nach vorn, zur Seite und die […]