Abrasion

Abrasion Abrasion is the loss of tooth substance due to friction caused by hard food components.

Acceledent

Acceledent Acceledent is a product designed to accelerate orthodontic treatment. It is an electrically operated device for intraoral use which transfers the instrument’s vibrations directly onto the recipient’s teeth. Acceledent has been introduced to orthodontics with great marketing effort. However, several high quality scientific studies have not indicated any particular benefit deriving from Acceledent, so […]

Activator

Activator The Activator was the first “functional orthodontic” brace that has been internationally recognized. Before that there was already the “jumping-the-bite appliance” of Kingsley (1879) and the monobloc of Robin (1902), but without much influence. It was originally introduced in 1935 by Viggo Andresen. The Activator is a removable appliance that encloses both teeth quadrants […]

Active Plate

Active Plate The active plate is a removable brace for just one jaw that was first devised in the 1920’s and was later improved by A.M.Schwarz. It consists of a plastic body, wire fasteners and active components such as springs and screws. Active plates, like all other removable appliances, are only useful for a small […]

Active plate (Schwartz plate)

Active plate (Schwartz plate) In the ‘20s of the last century, A.M. Schwartz developed the later improved, removable appliance he called active plate. In his honour it is often called Schwartz plate in English language. It consists of a plastic body, holding wire elements and active elements such as springs and screws. Today the active […]

Active Plate (Single Brace)

Active Plate (Single Brace) First introduced by Charles Nord in 1929 and later improved by A.M. Schwarz, this is a removable brace for just one jaw. It consists of a plastic body, wire fasteners and active components such as springs and screws. Since this appliance inevitably impedes speaking, it is almost always only worn at […]

Agenesis

Agenesis This term refers to the failure of a tooth or several teeth to develop during embryonic growth and development due to the absence of primordial tissue. The German word for this finding is „Nichtanlage“.

Agenesis

Agenesis : Agenesis is the congenital absence of an organ or organ part. This term refers to the failure of a tooth or several teeth to develop during embryonic growth and development due to the absence of primordial tissue. The German word for this finding is „Nichtanlage“.The most commonly congenitally absent teeth are the upper […]

Aligner

Aligner Aligner : Ever since the Positioner first appeared in 1944, it has been possible to provide orthodontic treatment by using plastic, removable braces. Since then, both the Positioner, that resembles a sports mouth-protector, and the thinner, transparent Aligner have been continuously improved. The very first feasible treatment procedure using a thin, transparent aligner was […]

Alveolar process

Alveolar process The alveolar process is the part of the jaw that surrounds the tooth roots. When the teeth are lost, the alveolar processes recede and only the jawbone bases remain.

Alveolar socket

Alveolar socket The alveolar socket is the bony compartment of the tooth root.

Angle Classification

Angle Classification The Angle Classification was conceived by E. H. Angle, the founding father of orthodontics, for classifying orthodontic deviations after the first molars have appeared: Angle-Class I refers to a neutral occlusion (normal bite), Angle-Class II refers to a distal occlusion (back-bite) and Angle-Class III refers to a mesial occlusion in the lower molars […]

Angulation

Angulation The term angulation refers to the angular position of the dental crown or root, mostly in a mesiodistal direction.

Ankylosis

Ankylosis This refers to the growing together of the tooth root with the jaw bone. If this occurs during the growth phase, it results in the affected tooth not being able to keep up with the jaw growth and then seeming to slowly disappear into the jaw itself (infra-occlusion). Sometimes, children’s milk-teeth are affected, when […]

Antagonist

Antagonist A tooth is called antagonist which is opposite to another tooth and makes contact.

Apex

Apex In dentistry, the root tip is called apex.

Apical

Apical Apical is a directional term for: in the direction of the root tip.

Aplasia

Aplasia Aplasia is the congenital absence of an organ or organ part. In dentistry, this term refers to the natural non-development of teeth. See agenesis

ARS

ARS Abbreviation for Air Rotor Stripping. In American English a common name for interproximal enamel reduction with a high-speed angled handpiece.

Arthritis

Arthritis Arthritis refers to the inflammation of joints which is usually associated with pain and functional impairments.

Arthroscopy

Arthroscopy Arthroscopy is the examination of a joint with a slim optic device directly introduced under anesthesia. The arthroscopy of the temporomandibular joint is an occasionally useful examination technique with reasonable risks. During arthroscopy the temporomandibular joint can be irrigated at the same time and any particles from the discus can be removed (lavage and […]

Arthrosis

Arthrosis Arthrosis is a degenerative joint disease characterized by the disappearance of cartilage covering the healthy joint surfaces. In most cases, arthritis (joint inflammation) which leads to the breakdown of the cartilage is a precursor of arthrosis. In older people, a certain arthrotic remodeling of the temporomandibular joint is relatively normal and it can be […]

Articulator

Articulator The articulator is a hinged rack for assembling jaw models and simulating jaw function. It’s necessary for making dental prostheses in the orthodontic laboratory. At the height of Gnathology, this was regarded as essential for functional diagnosis but this device is usually superfluous for this process. Moreover, it’s particularly superfluous and involves additional costs […]

ASR

ASR In German the abbreviation ASR is used for interproximal enamel reduction, see there.

Attachment

Attachment Regarding the orthodontic treatment with aligners, attachments are used as small plastic buttons on the teeth which improve aligner retention.

Attrition

Attrition Attrition is the loss of tooth substance due to tooth-to-tooth friction, e.g. with teeth grinding or pressing.

Band

Band In orthodontic terms, this is a thin metal ring that is cemented to the teeth so that orthodontic wires or appliances such as a transpalatal arch, lower lingual arch or a headgear can be attached. Before bands were prefabricated in different sizes for each tooth, they were actually soldered together from thin sheet metal […]

Bass Technique

Bass Technique A dental brushing technique performed with small vibrating movements, with the head of the toothbrush always positioned halfway on the tooth and on the gum.

Bass-Appliance

Bass-Appliance The Bass Appliance is a combined activator and headgear conceived by Neville Bass. It is a very effective appliance that can be used for the successful treatment of back-bite in the lower jaw even if it is only worn at night. Similar appliances are the Teuscher-Activator, the Hansa-Appliance and the Van Beek Activator. At […]

Begg-Technique

Begg-Technique The Begg-Technique is a fixed appliance that was first conceived in Australia in 1960 by P.R. Begg. It was popular for a while but has now almost completely disappeared – quite rightly so, one would almost like to say, because this technique involved a lot of extra wire elements and mechanical disadvantages. But the […]

BEMA

BEMA The standard of assessment of dental services (BEMA 2004) is the basis for the billing of dental services within the statutory health insurance in Germany. Or in other words: the BEMA is the scale of fees for dentists working for the statutory health insurance in Germany.

Bimaxillary

Bimaxillary Concerning both jaws, e.g. bimaxillary dysgnathic surgery

Bio-Bite-Corrector

Bio-Bite-Corrector The Bio-Bite-Corrector (abbreviated to BBC) is one of the countless modifications of the Herbst-Appliance which looks quite similar with its telescopic mechanism. Unlike the classic Herbst-Appliance, the Bio-Bite Corrector is attached directly to the fixed appliance so that protruding of the lower jaw and forming the dental arches can be managed in one phase. […]

Bionator

The Bionator an Overestimated Appliance William Balter’s Bionator was developed in the 1950s and was first introduced in 1964. It is actually nothing more than a smaller version of an Activator, i.e. a removable brace that encompasses both the upper and lower jaw (double brace) and is intended to ‘jump the bite’. It has exactly […]

Bioprogressive Therapy

Bioprogressive Therapy A treatment concept widely spread by Ricketts around 1970 which is based on using fixed appliances in mixed dentition. The Bioprogressive Therapy is currently becoming obsolete and its last supporters have almost vanished, but it still seems to have some followers in France.

Bite former according to Bimler

Bite former according to Bimler The Bimler appliance is a brace for adjusting the bite particularly in cases of retrusion of the lower jaw. It was first introduced by H.P. Bimler in 1949. The Bimler appliance is a kind of skeletonized Activator that has a lot of wire elements along with all the disadvantages of […]

Bite Plate

Bite Plate The bite plate is a removable brace that consists of a small, plastic body and some wire components. It is clipped behind the upper incisors to improve a deep bite in the lower incisors or to raise the bite in the posterior teeth. When it is actually worn, it works very well. However, […]

Bite relation

Bite relation The position of upper and lower jaw in relationship to each other, usually described as the position of the lower jaw: prognathism, neutral bite/eugnathia and retrognathism of the lower jaw (mandible).

Bite Splint

Bite Splint This is a removable plastic cover/splint usually used for the upper teeth and it separates the rows of teeth when biting. Occlusal splints are normally worn at night to prevent the patient from grinding their teeth. They are usually employed where there is pain in either the jaw joint or the chewing muscles […]

Bolton Discrepancy

Bolton Discrepancy Described by W. Bolton in 1958, this term refers to the differences in size that often occur between the teeth of the upper and lower jaw. Above a certain degree of Bolton-Discrepancy it is no longer possible to position the teeth in a normal bite. In such cases it is generally a choice […]

Brace

Brace This is the normal layman’s term for an orthodontic appliance or retainer. There are both fixed and removable braces, although the removable type are now mainly outdated.

Bracket

Bracket This term refers to a kind of little clip that can be attached to the teeth and which can then transmit the forces and torques of orthodontic wires to the teeth. Brackets are the universal working materials in fixed orthodontics. Brackets that are stuck on have been used in orthodontics since 1970 and have […]

Bruxism

Bruxism In dentistry, bruxism refers to all non-functional tooth contacts such as grinding and pressing. There’s a difference between awake and sleep bruxism, both of which have different causes. In the long run, bruxism leads to attrition of tooth substance which can be detected by typical, usually high-gloss grinding facets. Occasional bruxism is normal and […]

Buccal

Buccal Cheek-related; in the direction of the cheeks

Carrière Distalizer

Carrière Distalizer The Carrière Distalizer is a fixed appliance which is attached to the upper molars and canines. It consists of an adhesive base for each of the teeth mentioned and a stiff frame that is fixed to the canine and connected to the first molar by a joint. By transmitting power through the joint, […]

Case refinement

Case refinement Case refinement is the production of a second or any number of additional series of aligners after the aim of treatment with the previous series has not been fully achieved. At Align Technology, the manufacturer of Invisalign®, at least one is included in the lower treatment levels, whereas in the higher levels unlimited […]

Ceph

Ceph This is the abbreviation for a Cephalogram which is a side-view X-ray of the skull. Unfortunately, this is usually described as a ‘lateral tele-radiograph’ in German (FRS), which is not really understood on the international front. [See lateral tele-radiograph’ (FRS)]. The Ceph was hugely important in studying the growth of the face and the […]

Cephalometry

Cephalometry Measuring the skull, jaws and teeth with a Ceph, a lateral skull X-ray or p.a. skull X-ray.  [See critical comment concerning the lateral tele-radiograph’ (FRS)].

Ceramic brackets

Ceramic brackets Brackets made of crystalline material which are either opaque tooth-colored or transparent. Ceramic brackets are more aesthetic than steel brackets, but due to the brittleness of the ceramic and the associated risk of breakage mechanically poorer.

Abrasion

Abrasion Abrasion ist der Verlust von Zahnsubstanz durch Reibung mit harten Nahrungsbestandteilen

Acceledent

Acceledent Acceledent ist ein Produkt, mit dem kieferorthopädische Behandlungen beschleunigt werden sollen. Es ist ein elektrisch betriebenes Gerät zur Anwendung im Mund, das Vibration auf die Zähne überträgt. Acceledent ist mit großem Marketingaufwand in die Kieferorthopädie eingeführt worden. Mehrere hochwertige wissenschaftliche Studien haben jedoch keinen Hinweis auf einen besonderen Nutzen von Acceledent gegeben, so dass […]

Agenesie

Agenesie Agenesie ist das angeborene Fehlen eines Organs oder Organteils. In der Zahnmedizin bedeutet Agenesie, dass ein oder mehrere Zähne von Natur aus nicht angelegt sind. Das deutsche Wort dafür ist Nichtanlage. Die am häufigsten nicht angelegten Zähne sind die oberen seitlichen Schneidezähne, gefolgt von den unteren 2. Prämolaren. Die Milchzähne bleiben an diesen Stellen […]

Aktivator

Aktivator Der Aktivator ist die erste „funktionskieferorthopädische“ Zahnspange, die international wahrgenommen wurde. Davor gab es bereits die „jumping-the-bite appliance“ von Kingsley (1879) und den Monobloc von Robin (1902), die aber ohne großen Einfluß blieben. Die erste Publikation über den Aktivator erfolgte 1935 durch Viggo Andresen. Der herausnehmbare Aktivator ist eine Zahnspange, die beide Zahnbögen gleichzeitig […]

Aktive Platte

Aktive Platte Die aktive Platte ist eine herausnehmbare Zahnspange für einen Kiefer. Sie wurde in den 20er Jahren des letzten Jahrhunderts erdacht, und in den folgenden Jahren vor allem von A.M. Schwarz verbessert. Die aktive Platte besteht aus einem Plastikkörper, Halteelementen aus Draht und aktiven Elementen wie Federn und Schrauben. Mit aktiven Platten sind, wie […]

Aktive Platte (Einzelzahnspange)

Aktive Platte – eine veraltete Zahnspange Von Charles Nord 1929 publizierte, später von A.M. Schwarz verbesserte, herausnehmbare Zahnspange für einen Kiefer. Besteht aus einem Plastikkörper, Halteelementen aus Draht und aktiven Elementen wie Federn und Schrauben. Mit aktiven Platten sind, wie generell mit herausnehmbaren Apparaten, nur sehr einfache Zahnbewegungen möglich, so dass sie sich nur für […]

Aligner

Aligner Seit 1944 der Positioner publiziert wurde, ist in der Kieferorthopädie die Behandlung mit elastischen, herausnehmbaren Zahnspangen bekannt. Sowohl der Positioner, der einem Sportmundschutz ähnelt, als auch die dünneren, transparenten Aligner wurden seitdem stetig weiter entwickelt. Das erste richtig brauchbare Behandlungsverfahren mit dünnen, transparenten Alignern beschrieb Sheridan bereits in den 80er Jahren des letzten Jahrhunderts […]

Alveolarfortsatz

Alveolarfortsatz Der Alveolarfortsatz ist der Teil der Kiefer, der die Zahnwurzeln umgibt. Gehen die Zähne verloren, bilden sich der Alveolarfortsätze zurück und es bleiben nur die Kieferbasen übrig.

Alveole

Alveole Die Alveole ist das knöcherne Fach der Zahnwurzel

Angle-Klassifikation

Angle-Klassifikation Die Angle-Klassifikation ist eine von Edward H. Angle, dem Stammvater der Kieferorthopädie, erdachte Klassifikation der kieferorthopädischen Abweichungen nach der Stellung der ersten Molaren. Bei Angle-Klasse I besteht eine Neutralokklusion (Normalbiss), bei Angle-Klasse II eine Distalokklusion (Rückbiss), und bei Angle-Klasse III eine Mesialokklusion (Vorbiss) der unteren Molaren. Es handelt sich um eine sehr grobe Klassifikation, […]

Angulation

Angulation Angulation ist die Winkelstellung der Zahnkrone oder der Zahnwurzel, meist in mesiodistaler Richtung.

Ankylose

Ankylose Ankylose bedeutet das Enstehen einer festen, unlösbaren Verbindung einer Zahnwurzel mit dem Kieferknochen. In der Wachstumsphase bewirkt eine Ankylose, dass der betroffene Zahn das Höhenwachstum des Kiefers nicht mehr mitmacht und langsam im Kiefer zu verschwinden scheint (Infraokklusion). Dies betrifft bei Kindern gelegentlich Milchzähne, bei denen der bleibende Nachfolger nicht angelegt ist. Bei Erwachsenen […]

Antagonist

Antagonist Als Antagonisten bezeichnet man die Zähne, mit dem ein Zahn im Gegenkiefer Kontakt hat.

Apex

Apex Als Apex bezeichnet man in der Zahnmedizin die Spitzen der Zahnwurzeln

Apikal

apikal apikal ist eine Richtungsbezeichnung und bedeutet in Richtung der Wurzelspitze

Aplasie

Aplasie Aplasie heißt das angeborene Fehlen eines Organs oder Organteils. In der Zahnmedizin bedeutet Aplasie meistens, dass ein oder mehrere Zähne von Natur aus nicht angelegt sind. Siehe Agenesie

approximal

approximal zum Zahnzwischenraum gehörig

Approximale Schmelzreduktion

Approximale Schmelzreduktion Die approximale Schmelzreduktion ist eine Methode zu Verschmälerung von Zähnen durch Entfernung einiger Zehntelmillimeter Zahnschmelz im Zahnzwischenraum. Im englischen Sprachraum wird von ARS (air-rotor stripping) gesprochen, im deutschen auch von ASR (approximale Schmelzreduktion). Richtig ausgeführt ist die ASR ein sicheres und unschädliches Verfahren, das zur Platzgewinnung, zur Verbesserung der Kronenform oder zum Ausgleich […]

ARS

ARS Abkürzung für Air Rotor Stripping; im amerikanischen Englisch geläufige Bezeichnung für approximale Schmelzreduktion mit schnelllaufendem Winkelstück

Arthralgie

Arthralgie Arthralgie – Gelenkschmerz

Arthritis

Arthritis Arthritis ist die Entzüdung eines Gelenks, die meistens mit Schmerzen und funktionellen Einschränkungen einhergeht.  

Arthrose

Arthrose Arthrose ist eine degenerative Gelenkerkrankung, die durch das Schwinden des Knorpels gekennzeichnet ist, der die gesunden Gelenkflächen bedeckt. Vor der Arthrose besteht in der Regel längere Zeit eine Arthritis (Gelenkentzündung), die zum Abbau des Knorpels führt. Bei älteren Menschen ist ein gewisser arthrotischer Umbau des Kiefergelenks relativ normal und kann in den meisten Fällen […]

Arthroskopie

Arthroskopie Arthroskopie ist die Untersuchung eines Gelenks mit einer unter Anästhesie direkt eingeführten, schlanken Optik. Die Arthroskopie des Kiefergelenks ist eine gelegentlich sinnvolle Untersuchungstechnik mit vertretbaren Risiken. Bei der Arthroskopie des Kiefergelenks kann das Kiefergelenk gleichzeitig gespült und eventuelle Trümmer des Diskus entfernt werden (Lavage und Lysis).

Artikulator

Artikulator Der Artikulator ist ein Scharniergestell zum Einbau von Kiefermodellen und zur Simulation der Kieferfunktion. Wirklich notwendig sind Artikulatoren zur Herstellung von Zahnersatz im zahntechnischen Labor. Artikulatoren galten in den vergangenen Hochzeiten der sogenannten Gnathologie als unabdingbar zur zahnärztlichen Funktionsdiagnostik, wofür das Gerät tatsächlich meistens überflüssig ist. Ganz besonders überflüssig, aber mit hohen Zusatzkosten verbunden, […]

ASR

ASR ASR ist die Abkürzung von approximale Schmelzreduktion. Siehe dort

Attachment

Attachment In der Alignertherapie verwendete, kleine Plastikknöpfe auf den Zähnen, die den Alignern einen besseren Griff auf den Zahn ermöglichen

Attrition

Attrition Attrition ist der Verlust von Zahnsubstanz durch Reibung von Zähnen aneinander, z.B. beim Zähneknirschen oder -pressen

Aufbissplatte

Aufbissplatte Die Aufbissplatte ist eine herausnehmbare Zahnspange, bestehend aus einem kleinen Plastikkörper und einigen Drahthalteelementen. Wdie Aufbissplatte wird hinter die oberen Schneidezähne geklipst, um einen tiefen Einbiss der unteren Schneidezähne zu verhindern oder den Zusammenbiss der Seitenzähne aufzuheben. Wenn eine Aufbissplatte ausreichend getragen wird, können deutliche Wirkungen entstehen. Wie bei fast allen herausnehmbaren Zahnspangen ist […]

Aufbissschiene

Aufbissschiene Herausnehmbarer Plastiküberzug meist der oberen Zähne, der zum Trennen der Zahnreihen beim Zubiss dient. Die Aufbiss- oder auch Okklusionsschienen werden nachts getragen, um zu verhindern, dass der Patient mit den Zähnen knirscht oder presst. Die Aufbissschiene ist ein bewährtes Behandlungsmitteln bei Schmerzen der Kaumuskulatur und des Kiefergelenks, die unter dem Sammelbegriff craniomandibuläre Dysfunktion zusammengefasst […]

Band

Band In der Kieferorthopädie ein dünner Metallring, der auf Zähne zementiert wird, um kieferorthopädische Drähte oder Hilfsteile wie Gaumenbügel, Lingualbügel oder Headgears aufzunehmen. Bevor Bänder von der Industrie für jeden Zahn in verschiedenen Größen vorgefertigt produziert wurden, wurden sie tatsächlich aus dünnem Blech, das auf Rollen geliefert wurde, zusammengelötet – daher der veraltetet Begriff Band. […]

Bass-Apparatur

Bass-Apparatur Die Bass-Apparatur ist eine von Neville Bass erdachte Art der Aktivator-Headgear Kombination. Sie ist ein sehr effektives Gerät, das sogar bei nur nächtlichem Tragen meist zu erfolgreichen Behandlungen von Rückbissen des Unterkiefers eingesetzt wird. Ähnliche Apparate sind der Teuscher-Aktivator, das Hansa-Gerät und der Van-Beek-Aktivator. Welche Aktivator-Headgear Kombination von einem Kieferorthopäden bevorzugt wird, ist letzten […]

Bass-Technik

Bass-Technik Zahnputztechnik, die mit kleinen Rüttelbewegungen ausgeführt wird, wobei der Kopf der Zahnbürste stets halb auf dem Zahn, halb auf dem Zahnfleisch positioniert wird.

Begg-Technik

Begg-Technik Die Begg-Technik ist eine festsitzende Zahnspange, die um 1960 in Australien von Peter R. Begg erdacht wurde. Die Begg-Technik hatte einige Beliebtheit, ist aber inzwischen fast vollkommen verschwunden. Man möchte beinahe sagen: zu Recht, denn die Technik ist mit vielen zusätzlichen Drahtelementen und anderen mechanischen Nachteilen verbunden. Der Geist der Begg-Technik lebt weiter in […]

BEMA

BEMA Der Bewertungsmaßstab zahnärztlicher Leistungen (BEMA 2004) ist die Grundlage für die Abrechnung vertragszahnärztlicher Leistungen innerhalb der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung in Deutschland. Oder anders gesagt: der BEMA ist die Gebührenordnung der Kassenzahnärzte.

bimaxillär

bimaxillär bimaxillär bedeutet beide Kiefer umfassend, z.B. bimaxilläre Dysgnathiechirurgie

Bio-Bite-Corrector

Bio-Bite-Corrector Die Bio-Bite-Corrector (abgekürzt BBC) ist einer der zahllosen Abwandlungen des Herbst-Scharniers, dem es mit seinem teleskopierenden Mechanismus äußerst ähnlich sieht. Anders als das klassische Herbst-Scharnier kann der Bio-Bite-Corrector direkt auf die festsitzende Spange (MB-Apparatur) aufgesetzt werden, so dass mit ihr die Phase der Bissverschiebung und der Ausformung der Zahnbögen in einer Phase zusammengefasst werden […]

Bionator

Der Bionator – eine überschätzte Zahnspange Der Bionator nach Wilhelm Balters, entwickelt in den 50er Jahren des letzten Jahrhunderts, wurde im Jahr 1964 erstmals publiziert. Er ist nichts weiter als ein etwas verkleinerter Aktivator, also eine herausnehmbare Zahnspange, die beide Kiefer umfasst (Doppelspange) und zur Bissverschiebung dienen soll. Der Bionator hat deshalb genau das selbe […]

Bioprogressive Therapie

Bioprogressive Therapie Ein von Ricketts um 1970 verbreitetes Behandlungskonzept, bei dem bereits im Wechselgebiss mit festsitzenden Teilapparaturen gearbeitet wird. Die Bioprogressive Therapie stirbt zur Zeit mit ihren letzten Verfechtern aus, scheint aber in Frankreich noch eine gewisse Anhägerschaft zu haben.

Bisagittale Splitosteotomie (BSSO)

Bisagittale Splitosteotomie (BSSO) Die bisagittale Splitosteotomie ist eine Technik der Dysgnathiechirurgie, bei der der Unterkiefer im aufsteigenden Ast beidseits in sagittaler Richtung gespalten wird. Das zahntragende Mittelteil kann dann nach vorn oder hinten verlagert und danach sofort mit chirurgischen Platten und Schrauben fixiert werden. Die BSSO ist eine Technik, die in den 70er Jahren des […]

Bisslage

Bisslage Die Lagebeziehung der Kiefer zueinander, meistens als Lage des Unterkiefers beschrieben: Vorbiss, Neutralbiss und Rückbiss des Unterkiefers

Bolton-Diskrepanz

Bolton-Diskrepanz Von W. Bolton 1958 beschriebener, häufig vorkommender Größenunterschied der Zähne von Ober- und Unterkiefer. Ab einem gewissen Ausmaß der Bolton-Diskrepanz ist eine Einstellung der Zähne in den Normalbiss nicht mehr möglich. In solchen Fällen ist eine approximale Schmelzreduktion (Verschmälerung) der zu groß geratenen oder eine Verbreiterung der zu klein geratenen Zähne das Mittel der […]

Bracket

Bracket Bracket (englisch Klammer) ist ein auf die Zähne aufklebbares, kleines Schloss, mit dem die Kräfte und Drehmomente kieferorthopädischer Drähte auf die Zähne übertragen werden. Brackets sind das universelle Arbeitsmittel in der festsitzenden Kieferorthopädie. Geklebte Brackets werden in der Kieferorthopädie seit 1970 verwendet und haben seitdem die vorher verwendeten, zementierten Bänder weitgehend verdrängt. Die ständig […]

Bracket Zahnspange

Bracket Zahnspange Die Bracket-Zahnspange oder auch MB (=Multibracket)-Apparatur ist eine festsitzende Zahnspange, die aus aufgeklebten – Brackets und gelegentlich auch zementierten – Bändern besteht. Die MB-Apparatur ist das kieferorthopädische Gerät per se, mit dem sich die meisten kieferorthopädischen Behandlungen in minimaler Zeit, mit minimaler Belastung der Patienten und mit den besten Ergebnissen lösen lassen. Vorurteile […]

Bruxismus

Bruxismus Als Bruxismus bezeichnet man in der Zahnmedizin alle nichtfunktionellen Zahnkontakte wie Knirschen und Pressen. Es wird zwischen Wach- und Nachtbruxismus unterschieden, die beide unterschiedliche Ursachen haben. Bruxismus führt bei längerem Bestehen zum Abrieb von Zahnsubstanz, die durch typische, meist hochglänzende Schlifffacetten zu erkennen ist. Gelegentlicher Bruxismus ist in geringem Umfang normal und nicht besorgniserregend. […]

bukkal

bukkal zu den Wangen gehörig; in Richtung der Wangen

Carrière-Distalizer

Carrière-Distalizer Der Carrière-Distalizer ist eine festsitzende Apparatur, die an den oberen Molaren und Eckzähnen aufgeklebt wird. Der Carrière-Distalizer besteht aus je einer Klebebasis für die genannten Zähne und einem steifen Bügel, der mit dem Eckzahn fest, mit dem 1. Molaren dagegen über ein Gelenk verbunden ist. Durch die Kraftübertragung über das Gelenk werden die oberen […]

Case refinement

Case refinement Case refinement ist die Herstellung einer zweiten (oder beliebigen weiteren) Serie von Alignern, nachdem das behandlungsziel mit der ersten Serie nicht vollständig erreicht wurde. Bei der Firma Align Technology, dem Hersteller von Invisalign, sind bei den unteren Behandlungsstufen mindestens ein, bei den höheren unbegrenzte Case refinements ohne Berechnung im Preis enthalten.

Ceph

Ceph Abgekürzte Bezeichnung von Cephalogramm, dem seitlichen Röntgenbild des Schädels. Auf deutsch meistens unglücklicherweise als Fernröntgenbild seitlich (FRS) bezeichnet, was international unverständlich ist. Siehe auch unter Fernröntgenbild seitlich (FRS). Das Ceph war enorm wichtig, um das Schädel- und Gesichtswachstum und die Behandlungseffekte kieferorthopädischer Apparate zu erforschen. Aus dem letzten Grund spielt es auch in der […]

Cephalometrie

Cephalometrie Die Vermessung von Schädel, Kiefern und Zähnen am Ceph, dem seitlichen Schädelröntgen, seltener auch am p.a.-Schädelröntgenbild. Siehe kritischen Kommentar unter Fernröntgenbild seitlich (FRS).

cervikaler Headgear

cervikaler Headgear an den oberen Molaren verankerter Außenbogen, der an einem Nackenpolster verankert Kraft auf die obere Zahnreihe überträgt. Der cervikale Headgear ist im Prinzip ein potentes Behandlungsmittel, jedoch ist er bei den jungen Patienten unbeliebt und wird meistens nicht ausreichend getragen.