Menu
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T Ü V W

Glossary

You will find the definitions of keywords used in orthodontics here.

Aligner

Aligner : Ever since the Positioner first appeared in 1944, it has been possible to provide orthodontic treatment by using plastic, removable braces. Since then, both the Positioner, that resembles a sports mouth-protector, and the thinner, transparent Aligner have been continuously improved. The very first feasible treatment procedure using a thin, transparent aligner was described by Sheridan as early as the 1980’s and was called the Essix Retainer. They’re still in use today.

At the end of the 1990’s, the American company Align Technologies introduced, under the name of Invisalign, a perfected, orthodontic treatment procedure using transparent, removable aligners. The only real new thing about this was that a lot of them were produced by computer using just one tooth impression taken right at the start of the process. Whereas with the old aligner systems, new impressions had to be taken again and again to achieve any significant movement of the teeth. Other aligner products like ClearAligner aim at the same goal but don’t offer technical perfection such as Invisalign.

Aligners are virtually invisible even when the person is speaking or laughing and they do not usually impede speech which makes them suitable for the esthetic treatment of adults. However, like all removable appliances, they do have a limited effect and are therefore only really suitable for simple or moderate treatment procedures. Since they were introduced onto the German market in 2001, the use of Invisalign has spread rapidly. When handled properly it’s a sensible and tested treatment procedure. Meanwhile, Invisalign is accepted as a suitable orthodontic treatment method as a result of a revised verdict from the German Association of Orthodontists in 2004. However, it is not accepted by any of the public health insurance companies and is only grudgingly accepted by the private ones.

Menü
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T Ü V W Z

Lexikon

Hier finden Sie Erklärungen zu vielen Stichwörtern aus dem Bereich der Kieferorthopädie.

Aligner

Seit 1944 der Positioner publiziert wurde, ist in der Kieferorthopädie die Behandlung mit elastischen, herausnehmbaren Zahnspangen bekannt. Sowohl der Positioner, der einem Sportmundschutz ähnelt, als auch die dünneren, transparenten Aligner wurden seitdem stetig weiter entwickelt. Das erste richtig brauchbare Behandlungsverfahren mit dünnen, transparenten Alignern beschrieb Sheridan bereits in den 80er Jahren des letzten Jahrhunderts und nannte es Essix-Schiene. Essix-Schienen sind bis heute im Einsatz.

Die Firma Align Technology, USA, führte Ende der 1990er Jahre unter dem Namen Invisalign ein perfektioniertes kieferorthopädisches Behandlungsverfahren mit transparenten, herausnehmbaren Alignern ein. Das wirklich neue dabei war, dass beliebig viele Aligner mit Computerunterstützung aus einem einzigen Zahnabdruck der Anfangssituation hergestellt wurden. Bei den älteren Alignersystemen mussten dagegen für größere Zahnbewegungen immer wieder neue Abdrücke genommen werden. Andere Aligner Produkte wie z.B. Clear Aligner gehen in ähnliche Richtung, haben aber nicht die technische Perfektion wie Invisalign.

Aligner sind beim Sprechen und Lachen kaum sichtbar und behindern die Sprache in der Regel nicht, so dass sie für die ästhetische Erwachsenenbehandlung geeignet sind. Wie alle herausnehmbaren Spangen haben sie jedoch begrenzte Wirkungen und sind nur für leichte bis mittelschwere Behandlungsaufgaben geeignet. Seit der Markteinführung in Deutschland im Jahr 2001 hat sich Invisalign weit verbreitet und ist bei richtigem Einsatz ein vernünftiges und bewährtes Behandlungsverfahren. Herausnehmbare Aligner sind inzwischen sogar durch die 2004 überarbeitete Stellungnahme der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Kieferorthopädie als taugliches Behandlungsmittel anerkannt. Trotzdem werden kieferorthopädische Behandlungen mit Alignern in der gesetzlichen Krankenkasse überhaupt nicht und in der privaten oft nur unter Murren erstattet.